Wolff makes a plan to prevent bullying


After years of being taunted and teased by fellow students, Alexandra Wolff put her foot down and did something about. From elementary school days till about 8th grade Wolff was bullied by her peers.

Not until about the 4th grade was her mother even aware of it.

“For a lot of time I kept it to myself because I felt like I was a target and a victim and it was very embarrassing and I was almost ashamed that this was happening to me,” said Wolff.

Wolff wasn’t alone in the nation according to online study at least 56 percent of students are bullied. After Wolff’s mother found out from one of her daughter’s friends about her situation at school, she tried to help. Wolff’s circumstances worsened. She finally got back on her feet once getting into high school.

“Once I got there it was a little bit of an adjustment but then I got comfortable and then grew and began to like it and I think that made me feel better because I was finally away from the people that tortured me, I could finally step back breath and think,” said Wolff.

Wanting to do something to prevent others from what she went through she lobbied for a bill in Maryland. It defined the model policy for bullying. The bill tells what to do if you are being bullied and shows signs of how to tell if someone is being bullied.

Since moving down to the Christiansburg area she’s trying to continue what she worked in Maryland now in the Virginia school system.

“When I was younger I felt dumb next to the other students, I felt like teachers thought I was stupid and was going to go anywhere,” said Wolff, “and I think that this has made me feel like I am someone and I can accomplish things.”

Wolff hasn’t been alone in the process; her mother has been supporting her 100 percent of the time.

“She has come from a place where she felt tortured and alone and unhappy and she never could have spoken out before and ethically speaking out about the very thing that upset her so badly has helped her greatly,” said Wolff’s mother.

 

Leave a comment

Filed under Journalism Portfolio

Leave a Reply

